Jury, awards and new partners

IndieLisboa is back next week and besides the recently announced program and the beginning of IndieLisboa’s ticket sales, we highlight the presence of new partnerships, the return of the Universities and Schools juries, as well as the full list of juries present for this edition.

The jury of the IndieLisboa awards is distinguished by its transversality. In the International Feature Film Competition, it is composed by the artist Patrícia Portela, the film programmer Marcin Pieńkowski and the producer Ada Solomon. This section includes the City of Lisbon Feature Film Grand Prize and the TVCine Special Jury Award. Cláudia Galhós, Jérémy van der Haegen and Laura Walde, respectively journalist, director and programmer, compose the short films jury which will choose the winners of the EMEL Short Film Grand Prix and the different award winners in the categories of Best Animated Short, Documentary and Fiction.

The National Competition, which includes the Award for Best Portuguese Feature Film, NOVA FCSH Best Director Award for Feature Film, Dolce Gusto Award for Best Portuguese Short Film and New Talent Award The Yellow Color, will be decided by the curator Garbiñe Ortega, the critic Massimo Causo and Uli Ziemons, co-director of the Forum Expanded section of the Berlin Festival. In the Brand New Portugal Film + Betclic Award, dedicated to young filmmakers, the jury is composed of Marta Sousa Ribeiro, producer and director, João Nunes Monteiro, actor, and Gonçalo Lamas, artist and writer. The Silvestre section gathers André Príncipe, director and founder of Pierre von Kleist, Mariana Liz, professor and researcher, and Vanja Milena, critic and programmer, as juries for the feature films, and Julian Ross, researcher and curator, and the artists Morgan Quaintance and Théodora Barat, for the short films. Finally, the decisions for IndieMusic will be made by broadcaster Ricardo Mariano and artists Diana Policarpo and Francisca Salema. The complete and detailed list of juries and awards can be seen here. 

This year we have the presence of new and repeated partnerships such as La Caixa Foundation, which debuts in this edition as Patron, and the sponsors ASUS, MINI, Heineken, Corny and Hero Baby, which this year is the official sponsor of Cinema de Colo, IndieLisboa’s cinema for babies.